The Radiant Robbie
5 min readJan 17, 2022

--

Why International Development? Why This Career Choice?

Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

On 5th Oct, 2021, I woke up asking myself the question, “Why International Development?” Of all the career choices and the opportunities to make a difference, why this? Why is it this for me?

Why am I so passionate about working in this space? What is it that drives me to continually give my blood and sweat in the field?

While I may not fully have all the answers, this is what I do know:

I have always known that I’d be a great woman leading in great global spaces, bringing change for good. From my teen years, I knew I was born for something fearfully enormous. There is something in me, a force as powerful as an erupting volcano; a pure, powerful potential to touch many lives — a hunger for humanity.

I may not have understood the magnitude of the assignment then, but every day as I live and breathe and work in this development space, the picture becomes clearer, and the inner witness resonates that my feet are planted in the right place.

I am deeply committed to working within the development space, influencing transformational change, enhancing development effectiveness, bolstering inclusive growth locally and globally, reducing poverty and inequalities, and improving livelihoods in a sustainable manner.

I believe in people. I believe in the value and potential of people to accomplish great things and I am driven by a desire to do whatever I can to help them achieve their greatest potential. And as a young female leader, I believe in building a cadre of strong, empowered women leaders who are changemakers.

I am perhaps drawn to this arena because it aligns with my intrinsic values; I cannot sit and do nothing when I can offer help; I hate to see people suffer; I hate to see people bullied or battered by life or any other external force (be it hunger, poverty, inequality, abuse, unrest); I hate injustice; I root for the underdog; if anyone truly wants a helping hand, they can know that they have mine; I will speak up for myself and those who want to be heard but have no voice; I am a leader at heart, ignited by the desire to serve. No matter where I am, I will truly make a difference by doing the best I can to make a situation better. These have been the personal pivotal fuels that have resonated with me from a young age.

I think these have greatly influenced my career goals and led me to actively engage in job roles geared towards enhancing development and really, anything that provides an improved outcome for humanity and the world because the underpinnings are similar.

When I had my first drink of working within the public sector development space, it satisfied something deep within me. I had an amazing female leader, Adelaide Asante, who saw the potential in me. She gave me the mentorship and opportunities to really take up space. I was “just” a National Service “girl” then, but that job was the exposure that defined my career trajectory. I loved the dynamism in the role and the diversity in the room, particularly the multiculturism of the people and the varied thought processes on different subject matters.

I was thrilled that I could tangibly witness the positive changes that our development interventions were making in the lives of citizens as I interacted with them. I do not think there’s any word that particularly describes the feeling you have when you interact with the people who need your help, especially in remote areas.

They welcome your presence and the fact that you saw them and came to them; they appreciate the help you render; they want to be heard and value the fact that you are the conduit of their voice and the power to make things change for good. Nothing beats this.

I also loved the opportunity to tap my creative juices towards tasks at hand. I have always been arty/creative and having the platform to bring that creative expression to bear in my work has been something I’ve deeply respected about the field to date. For instance, having the ability to create policies, design programmes and projects or monitor and evaluate them in a manner that fundamentally solves complex problems for people, societies and economies, even within limited resource envelopes and diverse inherent development challenges.

Even when I veered off into the banking sector for a while, I never stopped thinking about finding my way back home. I eventually did and it’s been a great experience doing what I do to date.

I am of the view that the best, brightest and most selflessly passionate youth should be roped in as keen actors on the frontline, driving us towards the Africa we want, while ensuring that we leave no one behind. I am certain that by providing the necessary support to young potentials, we build a cadre of highly competent individuals best suited to tackle development challenges, with the added understanding of some of the socio-economic and geo-political dynamics influencing positive change within their local and global contexts.

The world and its people have so many needs and that requires a lot of willing hands to help make things better (whatever better looks like), particularly for those who are at a gross disadvantage. I believe in paying all the help I’ve had forward.

So, I do not have all the answers, but this is what I do know. That I am here in this development space, and it feels like home.

When all is said and done, it truly feels like home to live a life dedicated to improving the lives of others.

Living a life that gives to others and inspires others to do same is the true underpinning for a meaningful existence. And that’s what international development is about for me.

People. Giving. Making a difference.

This is my humbling, imperfect, still evolving “why”.

When God gives you a purpose, gift, ability, burning desire to accomplish something, use it wisely and use it well. And as I believer, I do not forget that my life is a ministry platform. An evangelistic tool. My life’s work is God’s work. God’s work is my life’s work. Serving God through serving humanity.

Tell me, what’s your why?

#robbiewrites #radiantrobbie 5.10.2021

--

--

The Radiant Robbie

Sometimes I have words and thoughts spilling from my soul, and if I don't write them down, I lose them. Robbie Writes. Radiant Robbie